All children attending UW-Parkside Child Care Center & Preschool must be registered. The initial Registration/Enrollment Processing Fee of $50.00. All registration fees must be paid at the time of registration and are non-refundable.
Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Hours contracted are in effect for the entire semester, including Finals Week. A minimum of two days of attendance is required. (See Fee Schedule for details).
There is a separate registration for summer. The registration fee is $25.00. Four sessions are offered. Specific dates are provided on the summer registration form available only at the Center. NO FRIDAYS are available during Sessions II through IV.
Child Care fees are invoiced on the 1st of the month for a one-month period of time. Payment is required by the due date listed on the invoice (usually the 15th). A late fee of $10.00 per child is assessed when payment is not made by the due date. Forms of payment include cash, personal check, cashier's check, and money order made payable to the UW-Parkside Child Care Center & Preschool ("UWP-CCC").
Termination of enrollment will be the result of non-payment of the second invoice. Student parents will also have a hold on there records until payment has been received. Any NSF check may only be redeemed by cash, cashier's check, or money order, made payable to the UW-Parkside Child Care Center & Preschool. An NSF fee of $20.00 is charged by the University.
State Assistance - W2
A two week retainer is required until the Center is in receipt of a written authorization from the State of Wisconsin. The parent is responsible for all registration fees, any co-payments, late fees, and all child care fees not covered by the state.
Children must have the following health forms on file:
- Physical Exam Form, completed by a physician or public health agency, and submitted no later than one month after the effective date of enrollment.
- Immunization Form, completed, signed by the parent, and submitted when the child enters the program.
These forms must be kept up-to-date. An enrollment is subject to termination when a child's records are not in compliance with the State of Wisconsin Regulations.
Children in the process of being toilet trained may use pull-ups at the Center. All children who are in the three and four year old programs must be toilet trained.
The family's insurance carrier provides medical coverage for accident or injury. University liability does not handle medical coverage. The University carries sufficient liability insurance to protect itself against its own negligence.
Fees are paid for contracted hours whether or not the child is in attendance. Parents are required to call the Center within one hour of their scheduled time if their child is going to be absent for the day. If a parent/guardian fails to give notification of absences, a child's enrollment is terminated after an absence of one week.
In the event a parent/guardian changes originally contracted hours, adjustments are made as follows:
- A fee of $10.00 per child is assessed for schedule changes.
- Hours dropped will not go in effect until the next billing cycle.
- A schedule change form must be completed in order for the schedule change to be effective.
- One schedule change per semester can be filed.
- No schedule changes may be made after the third week of the semester.
Additional child care is available when space allows and the child/staff ratio can be maintained. Arrangements for extra time must be made in advance with authorized office personnel. A 24-hour notice is requested. The charge for pre-arranged extra time is $6.00 per hour.
Any time (before and/or after scheduled time) used without prior arrangement is considered overtime. In the event that a parent/guardian leaves a child past the Center's closing time, they will be charged $20.00. All overtime is assessed on a per child basis. Overtime charges will be assessed at $10.00 per hour. In addition, if the Cetner is unable to reach the parent/guardian or anyone authorized on the enrollment forms to call for the child, Social Services will be contacted to pick up the child.
If a parent initiates a withdrawal, the office must receive written notification two weeks prior to the child's last day or attendance. A two-week child care tuition fee plus a $50.00 withdrawal fee will be assessed.
Child Abuse Statement
State law mandates childcare workers in day care centers or child caring institutions to file reports if they have reason to believe a child has been abused or neglected. (Wisconsin Statutes, Chapter 48.981 (2)) Parents/Guardians must explain to the teachers any injuries their child sustains outside the Center. Unexplained injuries will be reported.
Items Not Covered
For matters not covered by the preceding policies, the UW-P Child Care Center & Preschool will abide by all applicable Federal, State, and Local laws regarding the care of children. In the absence of aforementioned regulations, the UW-P Child Care Center & Preschool reserves the right to make a final determination in resolving instances without established policy.
Changes to The UW-P Child Care
Center & Preschool Policies
The UW-P Child Care Center & Preschool reserves the right to amend, or otherwise change existing policies in order to comply with Federal, State, and Local laws regarding the care of children. The UW-P Child Care Center & Preschool also reserves the right to amend, remove, or otherwise change existing policies in order to maintain a safe, healthy, and productive educational environment for the children served. In the event of a policy change, the Child Care Center & Preschool will make every effort to inform the individuals/families as soon as possible.