Dr. P.B. Poorman played an instrumental role in the foundation of the UW System Inclusivity Initiative for LGBTQ People, as a member of the original Steering and Research Committee. Her contributions to improving the lives of LGBTQ students, faculty, and staff through research, teaching, services and advocacy all served to define and lay out the identity and activities of the system-wide Inclusivity Initiative.

To honor Dr. Poorman's legacy to the state of Wisconsin, the University of Wisconsin System and the LGBTQ communities, the UW System LGBTQ Inclusivity Initiative has established an annual award in her name. The award is intended to recognize a UW System faculty, academic or classified staff, or registered UWS student for his or her excellence in advocacy, research, teaching, or service on behalf of the LGBTQ communities.


To be eligible, individuals must either be currently employed 50 percent time or greater as a member of a UWS Institution as faculty, instructional or non-instructional academic staff, classified staff, or a registered student at one of the UW System institutions.


Outstanding Achievement as evidenced by performance that consistently and substantially has resulted in important and significant contributions to the LGBTQ communities within the UW System.

Contributions above and beyond the assigned duties of the nominee's role are especially valued. The recipient may not have previously received the award.

The recipient will have:

  • Significantly furthered the mission, vision and goals of the Inclusivity Initiative for LGBTQ People,
  • performed at a high level resulting in one's profession – campus-wide, system-wide, statewide, nationally or internationally for research, teaching or service regarding LGBTQ issues;
  • published, presented, consulted, advocated, and/or used creative approaches to address LGBTQ issues within the classroom or in service to students.

A call for nominations will go out annually from the Inclusivity Initiative. For more information, please contact ideass@uwsa.edu.

The University of Wisconsin-Parkside Diversity Award is a university-wide award that recognizes a faculty or staff member who makes outstanding contributions or efforts toward enhancing diversity and inclusion at the University of Wisconsin-Parkside.

Past Recipients                     

  • 1999-2000: Department of Biological Services                     
  • 2000-2001: DeAnne Stone                     
  • 2001-2002: Christine Christie/Mary Day               
  • 2002-2003: Carol Lee Saffioti-Hughes                     
  • 2003-2004: Fay Akindes                  
  • 2004-2005: No award given                     
  • 2005-2006: Pat Goldsmith                 
  • 2006-2007: Roseann Mason
  • 2007-2008: Farida Khan           
  • 2008-2009: Michele Gee                   
  • 2009-2010: No award given           
  • 2010-2011: Ana Guerriero and Mary Kay Schleiter          
  • 2011-2012: Mary Xiong
  • 2012-2013: Damian Evans


Read about Plan 2008

The award recognizes institutional change agents who have established a successful record in fostering greater access and success for students who are members of historically underrepresented populations (including African Americans, American Indians, Latinos/Hispanics, Asian Americans, and Southeast Asians), first-generation and/or economically disadvantaged. By recognizing the exceptional impact these change agents have on institutional life, this award affirms the Regents' and the UW System Administration's strong commitment to diversity, equity, and excellence.

University of Wisconsin-System Board of Regents Diversity Award Guidelines: http://www.uwp.edu/news/pdf/2012guidelines.pdf

Past UW-P Award Recipients

  • 2009: Roseann Mason

The UW System Outstanding Women of Color in Education Awards were initiated in 1994 to acknowledge the ties and shared concerns among administrators, faculty, staff, and students within Women's Studies and Ethnic Studies, and to uphold a continuing commitment to Plan 2008: Education Quality through Racial and Ethnic Diversity. That commitment continues through support for multiple accessibility and diversity efforts throughout the UW System. This event is co-sponsored by the UW System Women's Studies Consortium and the UW System Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.


The UW System Outstanding Women of Color in Education Awards Guidelines: http://wsc.uwsa.edu/

Past UW-P Award Recipients

  • 1995: Renee Sartin Kirby
  • 1996: Carmen Ireland
  • 1997: Michele V Gee
  • 1998: Anne Bailey, Deanne Ding, Josephine McCool
  • 1999: Bridgette M Johnson, Mary Lou Mahone
  • 2000: Janet Days
  • 2001: Michele V Gee
  • 2002: Mary Day
  • 2003: Amy Hernandez Maack
  • 2004-2005: Shauna Hodges
  • 2006: Consuelo Clemens
  • 2007: Farida Khan
  • 2008: Thea Jackson
  • 2009: Maria Martinez
  • 2010: Fay Akindes
  • 2011: April Puryear   
  • 2012: Louise Loud
  • 2013: Jennifer Correa
Scroll to top