Ford Honored as 'Leader of Change'

Published: June 11, 2014

UWP Chancellor One of Three Recipients Nationwide

University of Wisconsin-Parkside Chancellor Debbie Ford has been recognized as one of three recipients of the inaugural Leaders of Change Recognition Program award.

Presented by the Network for Change and Continuous Innovation (NCCI), the award identifies leaders of change throughout higher education, recognizes them for their accomplishments, and helps link them with their peers to further leverage the impact of their good work.
The NCCI board implemented the Leaders of Change Recognition Program in 2013 as part of its vision of functioning as a catalyst for higher education institutions to work collaboratively and employ effective methods to advance academic and administrative excellence. 

Leaders of change exist in each institution of higher education, however, given the diversity of roles that leaders play within the institutions, they often go unrecognized. The Leaders of Change Recognition Program identifies and celebrates these exceptional individuals whose efforts have resulted in significant impact in their institutions and beyond. 

The NCCI Excellence Committee, under the leadership of Maury Cotter, director of the Office of Quality Improvement at UW-Madison, and Tim Klassen, director of the Ontario College Quality Assurance Service, organized a review panel to evaluate 13 nominations. 
"This program is part of a broader strategic effort to identify those individuals who are leading change on their campuses and to grow the network of change leaders within higher education," said NCCI President Catherine Lilly, who is the senior adviser to the executive vice president and chief financial officer at the University of Michigan. "I congratulate these three outstanding leaders, as well as all of those who have been nominated for recognition." 

Ford said the award recognizes the positive direction of UW-Parkside. "One person cannot effect real and sustainable change," she said. "This recognition reflects the cohesive and collaborative efforts throughout our campus. On behalf of faculty, staff, students, alumni, and members of our community, I am proud to accept this honor." 

In just four years as chancellor, Ford has developed an entire new leadership team, created a four-college academic structure from one college and one school, created an Office of Institutional Effectiveness, and developed a strategic plan. She also led the effort to build the Rita Tallent Picken Regional Center for Arts and Humanities, and engaged the entire region in redefining the university's educator development program. 

The University of Wisconsin-Parkside is one of 13 four-year campuses in the University of Wisconsin System. Founded in 1968 to better serve the needs of a growing population in southeastern Wisconsin and northeastern Illinois, UW-Parkside offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs and serves as an academic and cultural resource. Ford is the sixth chancellor in the university's history and began her tenure in August 2009.  

Other recipients of the award are Peter C. (Chris) Halladay, associate vice president for Organizational Effectiveness at Cornell University; and Peggy Huston, director of the Operational Excellence Program at the University of California, Berkeley. 

The awards will be presented at the NCCI annual conference July 17-19, in Seattle.
Scroll to top
Who Are You?