Faculty & Staff Notes

Accolades & Honors 

Amy Garrigan (community engagement specialist) and Debra Karp (community and business engagement director) of the UW-Parkside Alan E. Guskin Center for Community and Business Engagement were recognized by the Racine County United Way as Employee Campaign Coordinators of the Year for efforts to guide the UW-Parkside community to support the United Way. Through the generosity of the campus community, the number of donors and total dollars increased 35% this year. 

United Way Employee Coordinator of the Year

Andrew Gavin (director of athletics) was named to the 2020 Milwaukee Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 list. Selected from a pool of more than 350 nominations, Gavin was recognized for his outstanding professional achievements leading the Ranger Athletics program while also demonstrating leadership in the community. 

Milwaukee Business Journal 40 Under 40

Sheronda Glass (assistant vice chancellor of human resources and employee engagement) received the University of Wisconsin System’s 2019 Outstanding Women of Color in Education Award. The Outstanding Women of Color in Education Award is an annual honor given to faculty, staff, students, or community members to recognize their achievements in advancing equity and inclusion for people of color within the UW System as well as communities across the state.  

UW System's 2019 Outstanding Women of Color in Education Award

Ben Greenebaum (professor emeritus, Physics) received the 2020 D'Arsonval Award from the Bioelectromagnetics Society in recognition of his research contributions to bioelectromagnetics.  Greenebaum has made numerous significant contributions to bioelectromagnetics, especially in the interaction mechanisms of electromagnetic fields with living matter at the molecular or sub-cellular/cellular level, and has also contributed to the dissemination of knowledge in the field through his leadership in the Bioelectromagnetics Journal and the Bioelectromagnetics Society. 

2020 D'Arsonval Award

Francis “Frannie” Mann (assistant professor, Chemistry) and David Higgs (associate professor, Biological Sciences) had research proposals selected for funding by the WiSys Ignite Grant Program for Applied Research. Mann’s project, “Generation of Carotenoids for Animal Feed and Pigmentation” (with Natalia Taft, associate professor, Biological Sciences, as a co-principal investigator), and Higgs’ project, “Genetic Analysis of Nitro Algae: A New Algal Strain with Improved Biomass Yield on Reduced Nitrogen,” received close to $90,000. 

WiSys Ignite Grant Program for Applied Research 

Peggy Kendrigan (associate lecturer, Criminal Justice) was recognized by the Milwaukee Coalition of Justice at their annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration for her work in Mississippi in 1966. Kendrigan and other volunteers registered Mississippi residents to vote (there were 4,000 in total registered during the time frame of a four- to five-week period), and she was involved with the James Meredith March Against Fear where she met and marched with Dr. King.  

Read more about this

Bryan Lewis (associate dean, College of Natural and Health Sciences, and director of pre-health programs) received BizTimes Media’s 2019 Health Care Heroes award for health care staff. Lewis was recognized for his work to help students complete rigorous requirements in the pre-health program and gain acceptance to professional schools in healthcare fields. UW-Parkside’s pre-health and pre-med students have a nearly 90% admittance rate to professional schools, more than twice the national average of about 40%. 

UW-Parkside was recognized by the Kenosha Area Business Alliance (KABA) with a 2019 Forward Award, presented to businesses and organizations that exhibit financial growth, community influence and overall impact on the economy and area. 


In Memory 

Arthur Blish (May 14, 2020) 

John Buenker (April 4, 2020) 

John Campbell (May 9, 2020)  

Ann Cherkinian (May 5, 2020) 

Donald Huck (December 21, 2019) 

Scroll to top