UW-Parkside Honors Students and Alumni at Traditions of Excellence Ceremony

Published: May 11, 2018

Traditions of Excellence home image

Academic Achievement Awards

On May 11, UW-Parkside will honor 120 students at its Academic Achievement Awards Ceremony. Students eligible for this award must have a 3.5 GPA, completed 84 credits, and be selected by faculty to receive this distinction.

These awards are presented by the academic departments and programs of UW-Parkside in recognition of demonstrated excellence. More than 20 departments will recognize students for their achievements.

This year the awards ceremony has been greatly enhanced and aligned with the University’s Traditions of Excellence Dinner. Each student honored will receive a special note of support from nominating faculty as well as a recognition award.

Provost Rob Ducoffe will preside over the ceremony and is delighted to present students with these honors. “These students have accomplished a great deal, and this is one way we can recognize them for their hard-work and resilience.”

The Academic Achievement Awards are different than the Dean’s and Provost’s Lists due to the added criteria of completing 84 academic credits and being nominated by a faculty member. “Almost all students who receive this award are juniors or seniors and it is one of the highest accomplishments you can receive at UW-Parkside,” says Dr. Kenny French, professor of geography and chair of the awards committee. He also adds, “For many seniors graduating the next day, this is an additional reminder of the academic excellence they’ve achieved and a token of our gratitude.”

Distinguished Alumni Awards

On Friday, May 11 the University of Wisconsin-Parkside also celebrates the rich legacy of learning and accomplishments of its graduates with the Traditions of Excellence Distinguished Alumni Awards event. The university honored eight alumni in the categories of Achievement and Service, recognizing alumni who excel in their chosen field and/or perform exemplary service to the community.

The 2018 UW-Parkside Traditions of Excellence Distinguished Alumni Award recipients are: Mr. Michael P. Haubrich ’88, Racine, WI; Michael Kamphuis ’00, Schoolcraft, MI; J. Thomas Krimmel ’72, Cedarburg, WI; Roseann Mason ’86, Racine, WI; Mr. José R. Palacios ’83, Racine, WI; Susan (Hilmer) Podlogar ’84, New York, NY; Stephanie Sklba ’90, Racine, WI; John M. Werwie, DDS ’72, Milwaukee, WI.

The 2018 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients demonstrate the university’s impact on the region, as approximately 70 percent of UW-Parkside alumni continue to work and reside in southeastern Wisconsin and northern Illinois following graduation. Conversely, award recipients also evidence the nationally-recognized accomplishments of UW-Parkside alumni.

About the UW-Parkside Distinguished Alumni Awards

UW-Parkside accepts Distinguished Alumni Award nominations throughout the year and selects award recipients each spring for celebration at the Traditions of Excellence Distinguished Alumni Awards event. Nominees must have earned a bachelor’s or master’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-Parkside, and are considered based on criteria for the Achievement Award or Service Award. To learn more and to nominate a UW-Parkside alumnus/a for a Distinguished Alumni Award, visit: www.uwp.edu/traditions


Scroll to top
Who Are You?