Faculty and Staff Fall 2017 Convocation Awards

Published: August 30, 2017

Faculty and staff were honored at Fall Convocation for their contributions to the university:
Academic Staff Distinguished Service Award - Richard Karwatka
University Staff Award - Constance "Connie" Minton and Barb Wallner
Faculty Distinguished Service Award - Rich Walasek
Advising Excellence Award - Kim Armstrong
Community Engaged Learning and Research Award - Suresh Chalasani
Diversity Award - Kelly Andrichik
Excellence in Research and Creative Activity Award - Sahar Bahmani
Stella C. Gray Teaching Excellence Award - Simon Akindes and Jay McRoy

Academic Staff Distinguished Service Award

Richard Karwatka
Richard Karwatka- Mathematics Department, Senior Lecturer

As Chair of the UW Mathematics Placement Test Development Committee, Rich works closely with mathematics and testing professionals from across UW System to address areas of common interest in curriculum and policy. Read more

University Staff Distinguished Service Awards

Connie Minton
Constance "Connie" Minton - Criminal Justice Department

Connie began her service to the State of Wisconsin with the Department of Health and Family Services (DHFS) at Southern Wisconsin Center in 1984. Read more

Barb Wallner
Barb Wallner- first shift lead custodian in Residence Life, Facilities Team

Barb is first shift lead custodian in Residence Life. Barb joined UW-Parkside in 1999. Read more

Faculty Distinguished Service Award

Rich Walasek
Rich Walasek - Geography Professor 

Rich has taught thousands of students, advised hundreds of students, chaired the Geography Department and many other committees, directed the Sustainable Management program, championed the Geography Bowl and the Geography Raffle, and has personally established a scholarship for Geography and Education students. Read more

Advising Excellence Award

Kim Armstrong
Kim Armstrong - Associate Advisor

As an academic advisor, Kim says the best part of her job is helping students maneuver through their academic careers. Read more

Community Engaged Learning and Research Award

Suresh Chalasani
Suresh Chalasani - MIS Professor

As the first director of the Ralph Jaeschke Solutions for Economic Growth Center, Suresh helped build best practices for community-based projects. Read more

University of Wisconsin-Parkside Diversity Award

Kelly Andrichik
Kelly Andrichik - Parkside Police Department

Kelly has been a police officer representing UW Parkside in the community for 19 years. Read more

Excellence in Research and Creative Activity Award

Sahar Bahmani
Sahar Bahmani - Associate Professor of Economics

Sahar is originally from Milwaukee. She spent four years as a double major at UW-Madison in Economics and Political Science and then spent four years at UW-Milwaukee for her M.A. and her Ph.D. in Economics, graduating in 2007. Read more

Stella C. Gray Teaching Excellence Award

Simon Akindes
Simon Akindes - Political Science Professor

Professor Akindes came to UW-Parkside in 1998 from Cleveland State University and Ohio University where he taught and worked. Read more

Jay McRoy
Jay McRoy - Professor of English

Professor McRoy began his career in UW-Parkside's Department of English in 2001. Read more

Scroll to top
Who Are You?